Can turtles breathe through their shells?

no, turtles are one of the few animals which are required to breathe oxygen in an inflexible casing, the shell. The shell cannot expand and contract the way most animals, including humans, do. Instead, the turtle uses a muscle sling attached to the shell to pump air in and out of the lungs.