Why is the ship sinking?

Collisions with other ships, docks, bridges, rocks and reefs, and with the ground in shallow waters represent another common cause of a ship capsizing and sinking. Navigation and piloting should be able to avoid these errors, but sometimes accidents happen, especially in crowded harbors.