Is there a difference between icing and frosting?

The terms are used interchangeably, but frosting is generally thicker and fluffier than icing, which is thinner and tends to set quickly and harden when dry. Icing is generally not spreadable like frosting—it needs to be poured, spooned, or drizzled over baked goods.