Who wrote the play pearly victorious?

Purlie is a musical with a book by Ossie Davis, Philip Rose, and Peter Udell, lyrics by Udell and music by Gary Geld. It is based on Davis's 1961 play Purlie Victorious. Ossie Davis was an American film, television and Broadway actor, director, poet, playwright, author, and civil rights activist.