Why do they call a hotdog a hotdog?

The word "hot dog" began appearing in college magazines in the 1890s. The term was current at Yale in the fall of 1894, when "dog wagons" sold hot dogs at the dorms. The name was a sarcastic comment on the provenance of the meat.