What is denatured alcohol?

Denatured alcohol is ethanol that has additives to make it poisonous, bad tasting, foul smelling, or nauseating so it's not consumed recreationaly. It is some times dyed to be identified visually.

---

It is alcohol that has been made unfit for drinking by the addition of toxic or foul-tasting substances.