What is the iron golem in minecraft?

Iron golems are neutral or friendly mobs, depending on how they are spawned. They spawn naturally in villages, in which case they are passive unless provoked via a villager being attacked or the golem being attacked. If the golem is spawned by the player, it will be friendly to that player.