How much coffee for twelve cups of water?

One tablespoon of medium-ground coffee per 6 fluid ounces of water is recommended. Most coffee makers consider a “cup” of coffee to be 6 fluid ounces, so a “3-cup coffee maker” should use three tablespoons of coffee. However as you approach 12 cups, you may find that less coffee is needed.