How do birds find bird seed?

She explains that birds primarily use their sense of vision to find seeds on feeders for example. In fact, they likely have to land right on a feeder before they can tell if seeds are there or not. With the exception of some seabirds and vultures, most birds do not have a strong sense of smell.