Why does milk have sugar in it?

Lactose is a natural ingredient of all milk. Composing about 2 to 8 percent of the milk of all mammals, lactose is sometimes called milk sugar. It is the only common sugar of animal origin. It gives the baby animals energy to grow & be healthy.