How do they make rugs?

It depends on the type of rug. Some examples include, weave rugs, created by interlocking vertical and horizontal threads, often seen in tapestry rugs. Hooked rugs, made by pulling strips of cloth through the meshes of a sturdy fabric, and woven rugs, made on a loom, similar to woven fabric.