Is avatar an anime?

No, anime refers to cartoons produced by Japan; while avatar mimics some of the style of anime, it also draws from several other Asian cultures as well.

---

Avatar: The Last Airbender, The Legend of Aang, is an American cartoon TV series, produced in the United States. The animation is a blend of the Western, & Japanese styles. As it does not originate from Japan, or exclusively use the Japanese style of animation, it is not considered to be anime.