Is avatar an anime?

No, anime refers to cartoons produced by Japan; while avatar mimics some of the style of anime, it also draws from several other Asian cultures as well.

---

While many would like to disagree, yes. Yes it is. Anime is considered world wide to be strictly Japanese animation, however Japanese citizens call all forms of animation anime, if it originated in Japan, the term was likely coined by the American audience however, anime is not strictly Japanese.

---

Avatar: The Last Airbender, The Legend of Aang, is an American cartoon TV series, produced in the United States. The animation is a blend of the Western, & Japanese styles. As it does not originate from Japan, or exclusively use the Japanese style of animation, it is not considered to be anime.