Where does the term lining come from?

The word “lining” is from the 14th century and originally, as a noun, meant “the stuff with which garments are lined”. Later, in the 18th century, the definition extended to mean “the inner covering or surface of anything”. The 19th century added the verb meaning “the action of providing a lining”