Who is the original cohost of the view?

The View premiered with four co-hosts: Meredith Vieira, Star Jones, Debbie Matenopoulos, and Barbara Walters. Joy Behar, who was originally announced to be occasionally filling in as the fourth co-host when Walters was unavailable, soon became a full-time co-host.