Is the speed of sound higher or lower at high temperatures?

The speed of sound in air increases with temperature. The flow of a gas through a nozzle is limited to the speed of sound. Jet engines can expel gases faster than the speed of sound in the surrounding air by raising the temperature inside the nozzle.