Is salt a seasoning or a spice?

Spices are from the bark, root, stem, seed or fruit of a plant. Herbs are the leaves of the plant. Seasoning is using a combination of herbs and spices to flavor a dish. Salt is actually a mineral, it is not a spice or a herb because it does not loss it's flavor over time.