What are the ingredients for making cookies?

Most cookies are based on a mixture of butter, sugar (white or brown), flour, salt, a leavening agent like baking soda, and add ins like nuts, chocolate chips, or peanut butter. Check the recipe for the list of ingredients, amounts, and preparation.