What does it mean when a dog's tail is curled?

Because some dogs tails naturally curl or bend towards the head this tail position could mean he is relaxed. It may wag gently when happy. If the tail is tightly curled over the back and or bristly it could mean the dog is on alert & if the hackles are also up it is a defensive posture