What is the difference between sweet sausage and sage sausage?

Sweet Italian sausage, also known as mild Italian sausage, is simply the less spicy version of the two. Sage has a pronounced herbal flavor that is earthy, slightly peppery taste with hints of mint, eucalyptus, and lemon.