Why did the hindenburg crash?

Most probable cause of the hindenburg crash was pointed to a electrostatic discharge that ignited the hydrogen gas filled blimp. Hydrogen is 1 atomic number and is very explosive as well as very buoyant and lighter than air. Helium was later used on more modern blimps and is safer and non explosive.