Why did the hindenburg crash?

Most probable cause of the hindenburg crash was pointed to a electrostatic discharge that ignited the hydrogen gas filled blimp. Hydrogen is 1 atomic number and is very explosive as well as very buoyant and lighter than air. Helium was later used on more modern blimps and is safer and non explosive.

---

The Hindenburg was leaking hydrogen and passed through an electrical storm, which charged the airship with static electricity. As the crew was tethering the ship, they essentially “grounded” the airship, causing the static electricity to discharge and ignite the hydrogen that led to the explosion.