What's the placement for vegetable oil?

For 1 tablespoon of cooking oil, substitute 1 tablespoon olive oil, canola oil, or coconut oil, or replace half the amount of oil for mashed bananas in baking . For 1 cup of vegetable oil, substitute a half cup of applesauce or fruit puree. As a general rule, use half applesauce and half fat.