When was the last time it rained in the atacama desert?

Between March 24-26, 2015, One to two inches of rain fell. Areas of the Atacama Desert had been virtually dry for seventeen years. The Atacama Desert, the driest and oldest desert on Earth, located in northern Chile, hides a hyper-arid core in which no rain has been recorded in the past 500 years.