What makes eggs white?

Egg whites are made up of around 90% water and 10% protein. It is not actually white until you cook it, at which time the proteins change to a white color.

---

The eggshell colour depends on the breed of the hen. Generally speaking, white shell eggs come from hens with white feathers, while brown shell eggs are produced by hens with brown feathers. Pigment, not nutrition, causes eggshells to be brown.