What is brain fire?

Brain on Fire is a rare and often misdiagnosed neurological condition where the body's own immune system attacks the brain. It is caused by autoantibodies binding to the N-methyl-D-aspartate (NMDA) receptor in the brain, which leads to inflammation and damage to the brain's neurons.