What is r. c. s. messaging?

Rich Communication Services is a comm. protocol between mobile phone carriers and between phone and carrier, aiming at replacing SMS messages with a text-message system that is richer, provides phonebook polling, and can transmit in-call multimedia. It is part of a broader IP multimedia Subsystem.