How do you find a job in the eighteen hundreds?

In the 1800s, kids started work as an apprentice to a master craftsman like a blacksmith or lawyer or doctor. After a few years, they could be a partner or open a shop. They also might have just started working in a factory or on a farm as unskilled labor, depending on where they lived.