How many groups are there on the periodic table?

A traditional periodic table has 18 groups. In chemistry, a group (also known as a family) is a column of elements in the periodic table of the chemical elements. There are 18 numbered groups in the periodic table; the f-block columns (between groups 3 and 4) are not numbered.