What is the rarest dog breed in the world?

Otterhound. An old British breed, fewer than 800 otterhounds exist in the world today, according to the Otterhound Club of America.

---

Dating back to the Ice Age, the Norwegian Lundehund is recognised as one of the rarest dogs on the planet due to its unique characteristics which aren't shared by any other breed.