What are washers for?

Washer is used in conjunction with a screw fastener such as a nut and bolt that usually serves either to keep the screw from loosening, or to distribute the load from the nut or bolt head, over a larger area. For load distribution, thin flat rings of soft steel are usual.

---

Hardware washers are used with a nut and bolt for different reasons. Some provide resistance to keep the nut from becoming loose and unfastening. Some provide reinforcement for the surface the bolt penetrates or to keep the nut from pulling through the hole.