What age do children get molars?

Humans have 3 molars on each side of the mouth, both upper and lower. The baby versions of molars 1 and 2 usually come in before age 3. The permanent 1st molar emerges at about year 6, the 2nd one around age 12. The 3rd molars, called wisdom teeth, have no baby version and erupt in the late teens.