What happened in gettysburg pennsylvania?

General George Meade's Union Army beat and turned back General Robert E. Lee's Confederate Army during the attempted invasion of the North by Lee July 1 to July 3, 1863. The Confederates never attempted to invade the North again after the bloodiest battle of the Civil War with 51,000 casualties.