Why was tamron hall fired?

Tamron Hall left NBC’s Today show in 2017 when her segment was cancelled to make way for Megyn Kelly’s chat show. This was a demotion of sorts, but Tamron believes it was more on par with firing. NBC offered her a multi-million dollar deal to stay, but she chose to leave.