How do you know when lentils are done cooking?

Lentils are cooked as soon as they are tender and no longer crunchy, but do not let them get mushy. Approximate cook times are: Red Lentils: 12-15 minutes, Green/Brown Lentils: 20-30 minutes, French Lentils: 25-30 minutes and Black Lentils: 25-30 minutes.