What nutrients do cats need?

It is important to pay extra attention to a cat's nutritional requirements to maintain optimal health. Cat's need protein, amino acids such as taurine and arginine, as well as vitamins, A, D, niacin, and arachidonic acid. These stem from cat's evolution due to its strictly carnivorous ancestors.