What makes yellow cheese yellow?

The natural yellow color is affected by the milk's protein membrane and chemistry of fat‚ and the amount of beta carotene (the substance that gives carrots their color) absorbed from the grass the cows eat. In some cheeses the color is a result of added colorants.