Do you have to fast before a c-section?

To prepare for your caesarean section: You will need to fast. That means no food or drink, including water, for six hours before a planned caesarean. If you are having an emergency caesarean, the doctor will ask you when you last had any food or drink so they know how to proceed with your operation.