What is milk of magnesium for?

According to WebMD, "It is a laxative (osmotic-type) that is thought to work by drawing water into the intestines, an effect that helps to cause movement of the intestines. This medication is also used to treat symptoms caused by too much stomach acid such as heartburn,upset stomach,or indigestion."