What is the meaning of the name avery?

Avery is an originally male given name stemming from an Old English surname that was derived from an Old French pronunciation of the name Alfred or the Ancient Germanic name Alberich. The meaning of the name is derived from the Old English words aelf, meaning elf, and ric, meaning king, power.