What causes seasons on earth?

The rotation of the earth on it's axis while orbiting around the suns determines the distance for each hemisphere causing them to grow warmer or cooler (in opposite seasons).

---

The seasons are caused by the tilt of the Earth's rotational axis away or toward the sun as it travels through its year-long path around the sun. The Earth has a tilt of 23.5 degrees relative to the "ecliptic plane"