Do you put potatoes in the refrigerator?

Potatoes do not need to be stored in the refrigerator. They should be stored in a cool, dry place for the longest shelf life.

---

Uncooked potatoes are best kept somewhere cool and dry. Putting potatoes in the refrigerator can increase the amount of sugar they contain, and lead to higher levels of a chemcial called acrylamide when the potatoes are baked, fried or roasted at high temperatures.