What's the difference between a tornado watch and a tornado warning?

Tornado Watches are issued for counties where tornadoes may occur. The watch area is typically large, covering numerous counties or even states. Tornado Warning: Take Action! A tornado has been sighted or indicated by weather radar.

---

The difference between a tornado watch and a tornado warning is that during a tornado watch, the weather is in the proper condition to create a tornado. A tornado warning is when a tornado has formed and touched ground and could be heading in the direction where the tornado warning was placed.

---

A tornado watch indicates that the weather system in the area designated has the potential to spawn a tornado. A tornado warning indicates that a tornado has been spotted in the designated area.

---

A tornado watch means there is a possibility of a tornado. A tornado warning means a tornado has been spotted.