What kind of cat is a panther?

The Panther (also known as the Black Panther) is a large member of the Big Cat family, native to Asia, Africa and the Americas. The Panther is not a distinct species itself, but is the general name used to refer to any black colored feline of the Big Cat family, most notably Leopards and Jaguars.