What is it mean when a cat switches its tail?

If a cat switches its tail at a rapid pace, it means that the cat is irritated or anxious and you should leave it alone to allow it to calm down. If it is a slow swishing, the cat is interested and calm.

---

This usually means the cat is concentrating on something. They often do this while stalking and just before attacking prey.