How many people are in the major leagues?

In 2021 there are 26 position baseball players for each team in the MLB major leagues for a total of 780 players. Typically there are also 390 pitchers total, however in 2021 the number of pitchers is not being enforced. In September 2021 each team will be allowed 28 position players.