How do you get a wine stain out of a tablecloth?

Red wine stains need a good long soak in cold water to have a chance of removal. Start by rubbing liquid laundry detergent or dish soap on the stained area. Next, put the clothing in a bowl of cold water to soak for 30 minutes. Apply a stain remover and wash the piece of clothing on a normal cycle.