What is autism genetically?

Autism is genetic but it’s not usually caused by a chromosomal abnormality or sporadic mutation like other cognitive disabilities. Autism is likely caused by a single inherited gene or allele in someone’s ancestry that’s simply been passed down to them possibly recessively.

---

Autism spectrum disorder or ASD refers to any one of a group of disorders with an onset typically occurring during the preschool years and characterized by difficulties with social communication and social interaction and restricted and repetitive patterns in behaviors, interests, and activities.