How do you grow plants in minecraft?

Use a hoe to remove grass or change a soil block to a farmland block. The farmland block will have lines in it like a garden or field. This block must be within 4 blocks of a water block. Plant your seed in the farmland block. You can fertilize with bonemeal to make the plant grow faster.