Are buffalo and bison related?

Contrary to the song Home on the Range, Buffalo do not roam in the American West. Instead they are indigenous to South Asia and Africa. Wild bison are found in North America and parts of Europe. Bison are the hipsters of the two animals sporting thick beards.