What type of dog is a labrador?

According to wikipedia, The Labrador Retriever, often abbreviated to Labrador, is a breed of retriever-gun dog from the United Kingdom that was developed from imported Canadian fishing dogs. It is consistently ranked the most popular dog throughout the United States.