What is the difference between barley and wheat?

They are very similar. Wheat is ground without the outer bran layer that contains most of the fibre, while barley is consumed as a whole grain or in pearled form. Both grains contain a similar amount of gluten, thus making them unsuitable for people with gluten allergies or celiac disease.

---

While both grains are nutritious, barley is richer in fiber and cholesterol-lowering beta-glucan and loses fewer nutrients during processing than wheat. However, important nutrients are added back to wheat flour that's milled before using it to create pasta, cereals, and breads.